Cart: empty
Показать меню

Evgeny Svetlanov: Helen & Emil Gilels

Evgeny Svetlanov: Helen & Emil Gilels

Evgeny Svetlanov: Helen & Emil Gilels

  • Disc number in the directory: MEL CD 1001471
  • Recorded: 1968
  • Release: 2015
     In 2008 the outstanding conductor Evgeny Svetlanov would have turned 80 years old. Passing away not too long ago, on Easter Sunday of 2002, he left behind him a colossal artistic legacy. It is not only the famous “Anthology of Russian Orchestral Music,” featuring in itself almost all the works of the Russian classics, recorded in the “Melodiya” studio, but also recordings of music by composers from other countries, as well as numerous concerts, recorded on magnetic tape, not published up to the present day. These also include recordings done by Svetlanov the pianist as well as musical compositions by Svetlanov the composer…

After all, at the Gnessins’ Institute (presently the Gnessins’ Russian Music Academy) from which Svetlanov graduated he studied with Mikhail Gnessin himself, and at the Conservatory he was a student of Yuri Shaporin. His conducting teacher was Gauk, and soon the young pianist and composer decided to dedicate his efforts primarily to conducting. For a certain period of time he conducted on the radio, later – at the Bolshoi Theater and after the death of A.. Melik-Pashayev – also a student of Gauk – in 1963 Svetlanov became the chief conductor at the Bolshoi Theater. His work at the theater made a great imprint on the conducting manner – from hence in many ways one could trace his love towards the cantilena, tempi which are slower, as it were convenient for singing, elaboration of detail and a peculiar type of “orchestral mise-en-scenes”. Being an artist of a predominantly lyrical gift, he sought everywhere for points of junction between the lyrical and the epic, so common particularly for the Russian classics, which endowed his renditions with a special vigor, an ineffable grandeur. This exhibited itself in full measure in his work with the State Symphony Orchestra, of which he was appointed as the chief conductor in 1965, and with which he never parted almost until the end of his life. Having obtained the appellation of “Academic,” the State Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Svetlanov became the chief orchestra of the USSR and maintained the leading positions up till the mid-1990s.

Long-term friendly and professional ties were established between the State Symphony Orchestra and the “Melodiya” record company, which was founded around that time, in 1964. The microphones of “Melodiya” could frequently be found standing during the conductor’s concerts and broadcast recordings, approved by Svetlanov himself, were frequently released. Nonetheless, the greater part of Svetlanov’s concert recordings have not come out on records or CD’s and are still stored in archives. To commemorate the anniversary of the remarkable musician “Melodiya” is releasing one of these recordings. The music of Tchaikovsky featured is the music of Tchaikovsky, the composer who, according to the common acclaim, Svetlanov was the most successful in interpreting. The State Symphony Orchestra is joined by Emil Gilels and his daughter Elena (it could frequently be heard how they performed together in a remarkable duo). Very characteristic is the program itself of the concert – together with the overture “Francesca da Rimini” and the First Piano Concerto, a number of rarely heard, posthumously published works by Tchaikovsky were heard – the Concert Overture from 1965 and the one-movement version of the Third Piano Concerto. Already at that time, in 1968, Russian music was no longer divided into “masterpieces” and “second rate music” – this wise approach of his was reflected, in fact, in the colossal “Anthology of Russian Orchestral Music.”

It is not only the lively atmosphere of the concert hall, recreated to us by the reel-to-reel tape from the age of forty years ago, that conveys the special living spirit of the joint artistry of Svetlanov and the two generations of Gilelses. We also include here a fragment of the rehearsal of a concert, recorded in its time for a possible movie assembly, and now endowed with an indubitable historical and documental value. This is a distinctive present from the “Melodiya” record company to all those who esteem the artistry of Evgeny Feodorovich Svetlanov.

Feodor Sofronov

More...


  • 1
     
    Concert Overture
    The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    13:25
  • 2
     
    Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 23: I. Allegro non troppo
    Elena Gilels, The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    20:53
  • 3
     
    Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 23: II. Andantino semplice
    The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    6:31
  • 4
     
    Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 23: III. Allegro con fuoco
    The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    6:53
  • 5
     
    Francesca da Rimini, Op. 32
    The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    23:25
  • 6
     
    Piano Concerto No. 3, Op. 75
    The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    18:12
  • 7
     
    Rehearsal of Piano Concerto No. 3 (bonus track)
    Emil Gilels, The State Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Evgeny Svetlanov (Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
    21:49


Back to the section
  • Julia Igonina and “Partita”: The Seasons Julia Igonina and “Partita”: The Seasons "Firma Melodia" presents Vivaldi/Akhunov – The Seasons project performed by Julia Igonina and Partita.

    May 29, 2014

  • Anniversary Melodia Anniversary Melodia's room in iTunes To "Firma Melodia's" 50th Anniversary iTunes prepared special room, where the most interesting and memorable releases are collected.

    April 25, 2014

  • To "Firma Melodia" 50th Anniversary To "Firma Melodia" 50th Anniversary Soon "Firma Melodia" will celebrate it's 50th Anniversary. Our friends and partners from all over the world sending their greetings and congratulations. Look for articles in Luxembourg classical music magazine "PIZZICATO" and German magazine "OperaLounge".

    April 17, 2014

Корзина: пусто
Показать меню

Евгений Светланов: Елена и Эмиль Гилельс

Евгений Светланов: Елена и Эмиль Гилельс
400 i

Евгений Светланов: Елена и Эмиль Гилельс

  • Номер диска в каталоге: MEL CD 1001471
  • Запись: 1968
  • Год выпуска: 2015
     В 2008 году выдающемуся дирижеру Евгению Светланову исполнилось бы восемьдесят лет. Уйдя из жизни не так давно, в пасхальное воскресенье 2002 года, он оставил после себя колоссальное творческое наследие. Это не только знаменитая «Антология русской симфонической музыки», представляющая собой почти все произведения русской классики, записанные в студии «Мелодии», но и записи музыки зарубежных композиторов, многочисленные концерты, записанные на магнитную ленту, но так до сих пор и не издававшиеся. Это еще и записи Светланова-пианиста, и многочисленные музыкальные произведения Светланова-композитора…

Ведь в Гнесинском институте (ныне РАМ им. Гнесиных), который закончил Светланов, он учился у самого Михаила Гнесина, а в консерватории – у Юрия Шапорина. Педагогом по дирижированию в консерватории у него был Гаук, и вскоре молодой пианист и композитор почти всего себя посвящает дирижированию. Какое-то время он дирижирует на радио, а позже – в Большом театре, и после смерти А. Ш. Мелик-Пашаева, также ученика Гаука, Светланов в 1963 году становится главным дирижером Большого театра. Работа в театре наложила огромный отпечаток на дирижерский почерк Светланова – отсюда во многом его любовь к кантилене, темпам, более медленным, как будто удобным для пения, отделке деталей и своеобразных «симфонических мизансцен». Художник преимущественно лирического дарования, он повсюду искал точки скрещивания лирики и эпоса, так частые именно для русской классики, что придавало его трактовком особую силу, непередаваемую торжественность. В полной мере это проявилось в его работе с Государственным симфоническим оркестром, главным дирижером которого он был назначен в 1965 году и с которым Светланов не расставался почти до конца жизни. Получив в 1972 году звание Академического, Госоркестр под управлением Светланова стал главным оркестром тогдашнего СССР и сохранял лидирующие позиции вплоть до середины 1990-х гг.

Долгие дружеские и рабочие связи установились между Госоркестром и только что образованной тогда же, в 1964 году, фирмой «Мелодия». Микрофоны «Мелодии» часто стояли на концертах дирижера, часто выходили трансляционные записи, одобренные самим Светлановым. Большая часть концертных записей Светланова, однако, до сих пор не издана и находится в архивах. К юбилею замечательного музыканта «Мелодия» выпускает одну из таких записей. Звучит музыка Чайковского – композитора, по общему признанию, наиболее удавашегося Светланову. Вместе с Государственным симфоническим оркестром играют Эмиль Гилельс и его дочь, Елена (часто можно было слышать, как они выступали в свое время в замечательном дуэте). Характерна и сама программа концерта – наряду с известнейшими произведениями, увертюрой «Франческа да Римини» и Первым фортепианным концертом звучат редко исполняемые, посмертно изданные сочинения Чайковского - Концертная увертюра 1865 года и одночастная редакция Третьего фортепианного концерта. Уже тогда, в 1968 году для Светланова русская музыка не делилась на «шедевры» и «музыку второго ряда» - этот его мудрый взгляд отразился, собственно, в колоссальной «Антологии русской симфонической музыки».

Не только живая атмосфера концертного зала, донесенная до нас магнитной лентой сорокалетней давности, придает особый жизненный дух сотворчеству Светланова и двух поколений Гилельсов. Мы помещаем здесь и фрагмент репетиции концерта, записанный в свое время для возможного монтажа, а теперь имеющий несомненную историческую и документальную ценность. Это – своеобразный подарок от фирмы «Мелодия» всем ценителям творчества Евгения Федоровича Светланова.

Федор Софронов

подробнее...


  • 1
     
    Концертная увертюра
    Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    13:25
  • 2
     
    Концерт № 1 для фортепиано с оркестром, соч. 23: I. Allegro non troppo
    Елена Гилельс, Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    20:53
  • 3
     
    Концерт № 1 для фортепиано с оркестром, соч. 23: II. Andantino semplice
    Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    6:31
  • 4
     
    Концерт № 1 для фортепиано с оркестром, соч. 23: III. Allegro con fuoco
    Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    6:53
  • 5
     
    Франческа да Римини, соч. 32
    Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    23:25
  • 6
     
    Концерт № 3 для фортепиано с оркестром, соч. 75
    Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    18:12
  • 7
     
    Репетиция концерта № 3 для фортепиано с оркестром (бонус-трек)
    Эмиль Гилельс, Государственный академический симфонический оркестр, дирижер Евгений Светланов (Петр Ильич Чайковский)
    21:49


Назад в раздел