Показать меню

Anthology of Piano Music by Russian and Soviet Composers, Pt. 5 (Live) (1 CD)

Anthology of Piano Music by Russian and Soviet Composers, Pt. 5 (Live) (1 CD)

Anthology of Piano Music by Russian and Soviet Composers, Pt. 5 (Live) (1 CD)

  • Disc number in the directory: MEL CD 1001967
     “Melodiya” presents the 5th disc of the Anthology of Piano Music by Russian and Soviet Composers which demonstrates musical trends of the last decades. The featured authors – Rodion Shchedrin, Vladimir Ryabov and Alexander Tchaikovsky – are presented with large-scale works. Despite all the differences between them, there is one thing in common about these composers – synthesis of very different, at times contrary musical traditions, styles and directions. Each of the three composers alloys the material so heterogeneous in content into an organic and characteristic stylistic whole.

Shchedrin’s Sonata No. 2 so benign for a virtuosic performer combines supreme composer’s mastery with clear contours of a traditional image of ‘classical’ sonata and brilliant piano technique. On the contrary, Alexander Tchaikovsky’s Sonata is more free by its form and notable for mournful and tragic figurativeness. The Piano Bagatelles by Vladimir Ryabov are a synthesis of diverse style attributes in a sort of romantic unity so characteristic of the composer’s hand. The disc also features a composition
Variations on a Theme by Paganini by Nikita Mndoyants, a young composer and brilliant pianist, a student of Alexander Tchaikovsky. A too well-known music material is presented here in a new light.


  • 1
    Sonata No. 2: I. Allegro moderato
    Ekaterina Mechetina (Rodion Shchedrin)
  • 2
    Sonata No. 2: II. Sostenuto cantabile
    Ekaterina Mechetina (Rodion Shchedrin)
  • 3
    Sonata No. 2: III. Presto possibile
    Ekaterina Mechetina (Rodion Shchedrin)
  • 4
    Sonata No. 2, Op. 85: I. Chaconne
    Vyacheslav Gryaznov (Alexander Tchaikovsky)
  • 5
    Sonata No. 2, Op. 85: II. Scherzo
    Vyacheslav Gryaznov (Alexander Tchaikovsky)
  • 6
    Sonata No. 2, Op. 85: III. Aria
    Vyacheslav Gryaznov (Alexander Tchaikovsky)
  • 7
    6 Bagatelles, Op. 46: Non allegro, ma con moto - Maestoso
    Nikita Mndoyants (Vladimir Ryabov)
  • 8
    6 Bagatelles, Op. 46: Allegro non troppo - Quasi Mozart – reminiscenza
    Nikita Mndoyants (Vladimir Ryabov)
  • 9
    6 Bagatelles, Op. 46: Andante mesto
    Nikita Mndoyants (Vladimir Ryabov)
  • 10
    6 Bagatelles, Op. 46: Alleggretto con grazia
    Nikita Mndoyants (Vladimir Ryabov)
  • 11
    6 Bagatelles, Op. 46: Tempo di Minuetto
    Nikita Mndoyants (Vladimir Ryabov)
  • 12
    6 Bagatelles, Op. 46: Allegro con bravura
    Nikita Mndoyants (Vladimir Ryabov)
  • 13
    Variations on a Theme of Paganini
    Nikita Mndoyants (Nikita Mndoyants)

  • Total time: 65.20

Back to the section
  • Julia Igonina and “Partita”: The Seasons Julia Igonina and “Partita”: The Seasons "Firma Melodia" presents Vivaldi/Akhunov – The Seasons project performed by Julia Igonina and Partita.

    May 29, 2014

  • Anniversary Melodia Anniversary Melodia's room in iTunes To "Firma Melodia's" 50th Anniversary iTunes prepared special room, where the most interesting and memorable releases are collected.

    April 25, 2014

  • To "Firma Melodia" 50th Anniversary To "Firma Melodia" 50th Anniversary Soon "Firma Melodia" will celebrate it's 50th Anniversary. Our friends and partners from all over the world sending their greetings and congratulations. Look for articles in Luxembourg classical music magazine "PIZZICATO" and German magazine "OperaLounge".

    April 17, 2014