Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1, 5, 9 (7 CD)

  • CD
  • Digital

Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1, 5, 9 (7 CD)

  • Disc number in the directory: MEL CD 1002475

Firma Melodiya presents a set of selected symphonies by Gustav Mahler interpreted by Kirill Kondrashin and Alexander Sladkovsky.
Almost fifty years separate the time of recording of these interpretations. The name of Kirill Kondrashin is linked with the everlasting glory of the “Moscow philharmonics” – the orchestra that became one of the best collectives of the former Soviet Union under his leadership. He was the first Soviet conductor to realize a full concert cycle of symphonies by Mahler (except the Eighth) and Shostakovich. Kondrashin not only resumed the tradition of “Russian Mahleriana” that had been interrupted by the Soviet ideologists of music for three decades, - he actually rediscovered the world of Mahler’s music for the domestic audience, presenting its bright, independent and still so topical rendition. Kondrashin’s initiative was taken up by other conductors of this country, but no one ventured integral coverage of Mahler’s oeuvre.
People’s Artist of Russia Alexander Sladkovsky is among the best know conductors of modern Russia. He was the one who resuscitated the State Symphony Orchestra of the Republic of Tatarstan (former Tatar ASSR) and won the recognition in this country and overseas during his six-year leadership. Just as Kondrashin did, Sladkovsky possesses an extensive repertoire, devotes much attention to contemporary music and achieves the highest technique and combination of emotional uplift with academic strictness in his interpretations.
Mahler and Shostakovich take a special place in the modern maestro’s music pantheon. While Mahler’s First, Fifth and Ninth symphonies recorded by Sladkovsky and his orchestra in 2016 preserve the traits of Kondrashin’s tradition, they also capture the conductor’s distinction as his art is addressed to today’s listeners.

Track list

Густав Малер: Симфонии №1, №5, №9 (7 CD)

  • CD

Густав Малер: Симфонии №1, №5, №9 (7 CD)

  • Номер диска в каталоге: MEL CD 1002475

ОБ АЛЬБОМЕ

Фирма «Мелодия» представляет комплект избранных симфоний Густава Малера в двух интерпретациях – Кирилла Кондрашина и Александра Сладковского.
Почти полвека разделяет время записи этих интерпретаций. С Кириллом Кондрашиным связана неувядаемая слава «московских филармоников» – оркестра, который под его руководством стал одним из лучших коллективов Советского Союза. Он стал первым советским дирижером, осуществившим полный концертный цикл симфоний Малера (кроме Восьмой) и Шостаковича. Кондрашин не только возобновил традицию «русской малерианы», искусственно прерванную советскими идеологами от музыки на три десятилетия; фактически он заново открыл мир малеровской музыки отечественной публике, представив ее яркое и независимое, актуальное и сегодня дирижерское прочтение. Инициатива Кондрашина была подхвачена другими дирижерами нашей страны, но еще долго никто не решался на целостный охват творчества Малера.
Народный артист России Александр Сладковский принадлежит к наиболее известным дирижерам современной России. Он фактически возродил Государственный симфонический оркестр Республики Татарстан (в прошлом – Татарской АССР), который за шесть лет его руководства получил международное признание в стране и в мире. Подобно Кондрашину, Сладковский обладает широчайшим репертуаром, уделяет особое внимание современной музыке, в своих интерпретациях добивается высочайшего технического мастерства и сочетания эмоционального подъема с академической строгостью. 
Малер и Шостакович занимают особое место в музыкальном пантеоне современного маэстро. Первая, Пятая и Девятая симфонии Малера, записанные А. Сладковским с ГСО РТ в 2016 г., сохраняют черты «кондрашинской» традиции, но при этом отражают яркую индивидуальность дирижера, искусство которого адресовано слушателям наших дней.

Треклист