Michael Kugel, alto. Boris Berezovsky, piano (1 CD)

  • CD

Michael Kugel, alto. Boris Berezovsky, piano (1 CD)

  • Disc number in the directory: MEL CD 1002222
  • Recorded: 2002-2013
  • Release: 2014

     Firma Melodiya presents recordings of the outstanding violist Mikhail Kugel.

Unfortunately, this name is little known in this country and much better known in Europe where he has played concerts and given master classes for the last 20 years. However, in the beginning of his performing career in the 1970's and 1980's, he was considered one of the best Soviet violists. He shared the first prize with Hungarian violist Zoltán Tóth at the international competition in Budapest in 1975 (Yuri Bashmet won the second prize at the same competition).

Mikhail Kugel combined a career as a solo performer with the membership in the celebrated Beethoven Quartet (in its last line-up), was a professor of the Moscow Conservatory, and later on of the Jerusalem Rubin Academy of Music and Dance. At present, he teaches at the Royal Conservatory of Ghent in Belgium.

Mikhail Kugel has expanded the viol repertoire by making numerous arrangement of music from different eras for the viola. Some of them are featured on this disc.

The works for viola and piano were recorded by Mikhail Kugel together with Boris Berezovsky, one of the most in-demand pianists of modern time, a first prize winner of the Tchaikovsky International Competition and an owner of Grammophone, Diapason d’Or, BBC and Echo klassik awards for the best classical recordings.

The recordings were made at Kugel's concerts in 2002 to 2013.

Track list


  • Total time: 67:04

Михаил Кугель, Борис Березовский: Глинка, Рубинштейн, Глазунов (1 CD)

  • CD
  • Digital

Михаил Кугель, Борис Березовский: Глинка, Рубинштейн, Глазунов (1 CD)

  • Номер диска в каталоге: MEL CD 1002222
  • Запись: 2002-2013
  • Дата выпуска: 2014

Фирма «Мелодия» предлагает Вашему вниманию записи выдающегося альтиста Михаила Кугеля.

Сегодня это имя, к сожалению, малоизвестно в нашей стране – гораздо лучше с искусством М. Кугеля знакомы в Европе, где он регулярно выступает с концертами и мастер-классами в течение последних 20 лет. Однако, в начале своей исполнительской карьеры, в 1970-80е гг., его считали одним из крупнейших советских альтистов. На международном конкурсе в Будапеште в 1975 г. он разделил первую премию с венгерским альтистом З. Тотом (Юрий Башмет был удостоен на том же конкурсе второй премии).

Михаиль Кугель сочетал сольную концертную деятельность с игрой в прославленном квартете им. Бетховена (в его последнем составе), был профессором Московской консерватории, а позже – Иерусалимской академии музыки и танца им. Рубина, в настоящее время преподает в консерватории г. Гента в Бельгии.

Михаил Кугель расширил альтовый репертуар, сделав множество переложений для альта музыки разных эпох (некоторые из них представлены на данном диске).

Сочинения для альта и фортепиано записаны Михаилом Кугелем в ансамбле с Борисом Березовским – одним из самых востребованных пианистов нашего времени, золотым лауреатом Международного конкурса им. П.И. Чайковского и обладателем премий «Grammophone», «Diapason d’Or», «BBC» и «Echo klassik» за лучшие записи классической музыки.

Записи были осуществлены на концертах М. Кугеля в 2002-13 гг.

Записи с концертов 2002 (11), 2012–2013 (1–10) гг.
Звукорежиссер – С. Вандер Бекен

Ремастеринг – Е. Барыкина
Редактор – Н. Сторчак
Дизайн – А. Ким
Перевод – Н. Кузнецов (англ.), Н. Рындина (франц.)

Треклист

  • Общее время звучания: 67:04